Buyer's guide · Law
We compared six law firm billing and timekeeping platforms on published pricing, trial terms, LEDES and UTBMS support, trust accounting, payment processing and the main tradeoff each one asks you to accept.
- Billing-first firms on a budget: Bill4Time — Legal Pro adds trust accounting, UTBMS codes and LEDES export from $59 per user per month billed annually.
- Small firms wanting plan clarity: MyCase — Three published tiers from $50 per user per month annually, a 10-day trial and no setup fee.
- Firms needing LEDES on every tier: Clio — UTBMS coding and LEDES billing are listed on all four Clio Manage plans, which start at $49 per user per month.
- Firms with insurer or corporate clients: TimeSolv — Supports LEDES 1998B, 1998BI, Chubb and Litigation Advisor formats plus split billing across payers.
- Firms that lose unrecorded time: Smokeball — AutoTime records activity against each matter and builds a timesheet overnight on the Prosper+ plan.
Legal billing software turns the hours, expenses and flat fees a law firm records into invoices, collects payment and keeps client money separate from firm money. The category overlaps with practice management, and several products on this page sell billing as part of a broader suite. What sets legal billing apart from generic invoicing tools is the compliance layer: trust or IOLTA accounting, electronic billing formats such as LEDES with UTBMS task codes for corporate and insurer clients, split billing, and an audit trail you can show a bar regulator. Buyers are usually managing partners, firm administrators and bookkeepers at solo, small and midsize firms who are replacing spreadsheets, desktop timekeeping tools or an older system that cannot accept online payments.
We compared each product on six fields: published pricing, free plan or trial, LEDES and UTBMS support, trust accounting, payments and accounting sync, and the main limitation. Products are listed in practical buyer order, starting with fully published per-user prices and ending with quote-based vendors. The order is not a quality ranking. We checked every price, trial and plan feature on the vendor's official pricing or product pages on 12 October 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a number, we say so rather than estimate one. Prices are in US dollars unless stated otherwise.
Legal Billing Software compared at a glance
| Platform | Pricing | Best for | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Bill4Time | $39-$89/user/mo billed annually; $49-$99 billed monthly | Billing-focused small firms | Site → |
| 2. PracticePanther | $49-$114/user/mo billed annually; $59-$124 billed monthly | Firms wanting all-in-one tiers | Site → |
| 3. MyCase | $50-$130/user/mo billed annually; $60-$150 billed monthly | Small firms wanting simple tiers | Site → |
| 4. Clio | From $49/user/mo (Starter); higher tiers priced via sales | Firms needing a broad ecosystem | Site → |
| 5. TimeSolv | Per-user plan prices via sales; 10-day free trial | Complex e-billing and split invoices | Site → |
| 6. Smokeball | Quote-based; depends on users, plan, term and add-ons | Firms losing unrecorded billable time | Site → |
Pricing checked 12 October 2026 on each vendor's official pricing or product pages. Prices are list prices in USD unless stated; "Quote-based" means the vendor does not publish a price. Order follows buyer fit and pricing transparency, not a quality score. Confirm billing basis, minimums and taxes with the vendor before you buy. Methodology is described below.
The 6 options in detail
Bill4Time
Best for billing-focused small firmsBest for: Solo and small firms that mainly need time capture, invoicing and trust accounting without paying for a full practice management suite.
| Attribute | Bill4Time |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Time & Billing $39, Legal Pro $59, Legal Enterprise $89 per user/month billed annually; $49, $69 and $99 billed monthly (USD) |
| Free plan or trial | 14-day free trial, no credit card needed; no free plan |
| LEDES and UTBMS | UTBMS codes and LEDES export on Legal Pro; custom LEDES export on Legal Enterprise; not on Time & Billing plans |
| Trust accounting | Trust accounting on Legal Pro and Legal Enterprise only |
| Payments and accounting sync | Payment processing, client portal and QuickBooks integration included from the entry Time & Billing plan |
| Main limitation | Legal-specific features sit on the Legal plans, so law firms should budget from $59 per user per month, not $39 |
- Legal Pro adds trust accounting, conflict checking, contingency billing, UTBMS codes, LEDES export and invoice cover letters to the core time and billing tools.
- Every plan includes a client portal, payment processing, a mobile app, expense tracking and QuickBooks integration, according to the vendor pricing page.
- It is a billing-first product, so firms that want intake CRM, document automation or deep matter workflows will likely pair it with other tools.
Our take: Bill4Time is the most direct answer on this page if your problem is getting time recorded and invoices out, rather than replacing every system in the firm. The Legal Pro plan is the realistic starting point for a law firm because it is where trust accounting, conflict checks, UTBMS codes and LEDES export appear, at $59 per user per month on annual billing or $69 monthly. The Time & Billing plans are cheaper but are built for general professional services and leave out trust accounting. Bill4Time also sells to accountants, consultants and other service firms, so expect less legal-specific depth than Clio or Smokeball in areas such as court rules or document assembly. During the 14-day trial, enter a realistic month of time entries, run a LEDES export for one corporate client, post a retainer into trust and pay an invoice through the client portal. If those four steps work cleanly, Bill4Time can cover billing at a lower published price than most suites here.
PracticePanther
Best for firms wanting all-in-one tiersBest for: Small firms that want practice management and billing together, with published prices and built-in payments on every tier.
| Attribute | PracticePanther |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Solo $49, Essential $69, Business $89, Business Pro $114 per user/month billed annually; $59 to $124 billed monthly (USD) |
| Free plan or trial | 7-day free trial, no credit card needed; no free plan |
| LEDES and UTBMS | LEDES billing listed from the Business plan upward; not listed on Solo or Essential |
| Trust accounting | Trust Accounting and enhanced reconciliation listed on Business Pro |
| Payments and accounting sync | Native ePayments through PantherPayments on all plans; QuickBooks Online sync described on the pricing page |
| Main limitation | Trust accounting is listed only on the top Business Pro tier, which raises cost for firms that hold client funds |
- Time tracking and the client portal are marked as always included, so even the Solo plan covers day-to-day timekeeping and client access.
- Annual billing saves $120 per user per year compared with monthly billing, according to the vendor pricing page.
- The 7-day trial is the shortest on this page, which leaves little time to test trust workflows and LEDES output with real data.
Our take: PracticePanther packages matter management, time tracking, invoicing and payments into four published tiers, which makes budgeting simple once you know which features you need. The tier logic matters: LEDES billing appears from Business at $89 per user per month annually, and the pricing page lists trust accounting with enhanced reconciliation on Business Pro at $114. A firm that holds retainers and bills an insurer in LEDES format is therefore looking at the top tier, which puts it above Bill4Time Legal Pro and MyCase Pro on published price. In return you get a broader practice management layer with built-in PantherPayments. Because the trial lasts only seven days, prepare a test plan before you start: import a few clients, record time from the mobile app, issue an invoice with an online payment link, and ask support to confirm which trust ledger functions you would have on each tier. Compare that answer with MyCase, which lists trust ledgers on its entry plan.
MyCase
Best for small firms wanting simple tiersBest for: Solo and small litigation or consumer-law firms that want transparent tiers, trust ledgers on the entry plan and no setup fee.
| Attribute | MyCase |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Basic $50, Pro $100, Advanced $130 per user/month billed annually; $60, $120 and $150 billed monthly (USD) |
| Free plan or trial | 10-day free trial, no credit card required; no free plan |
| LEDES and UTBMS | LEDES billing listed as a billing option; the pricing page does not tie it to a specific plan |
| Trust accounting | Trust ledger and reconciliation on all plans; three-way reconciliation needs the MyCase Accounting add-on at $39/user/month |
| Payments and accounting sync | LawPay online payments with next-day deposits on Basic; split billing on Advanced |
| Main limitation | Full firm accounting and three-way trust reconciliation cost an extra $39 per user per month |
- The pricing page states that no long-term contract or setup fee is required, and implementation, training and support are included.
- Smart Time Finder flags billable time you may have missed during the day, which helps firms that under-record short tasks.
- The jump from Basic to Pro doubles the per-user price, and premium billing and reporting features sit on Pro.
Our take: MyCase suits firms that want a predictable monthly cost and do not want to negotiate. Trust ledgers, time entry, invoicing and LawPay payments are on the Basic plan, which makes it a credible low-cost option for consumer practices such as family law, criminal defense or estate planning. The tradeoffs appear as you grow: premium billing and reporting move to Pro at $100 per user per month annually, split billing sits on Advanced, and three-way trust reconciliation plus full accounting require the $39 MyCase Accounting add-on. Add those together before comparing with Clio or PracticePanther. In the 10-day trial, test how the trust ledger handles a retainer drawdown, whether invoices carry the detail your clients expect, and how LEDES output is configured if you have any corporate or insurer clients. MyCase also bundles 8am IQ AI assistants, so check whether the included monthly page allowance for document processing fits your volume.
Clio
Best for firms needing a broad ecosystemBest for: Growing firms that want billing inside a widely integrated practice management platform with LEDES on every plan.
| Attribute | Clio |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Clio Manage plans start at $49 USD per user/month (Starter); Core, Signature and Elite prices are shown on request |
| Free plan or trial | Free trial offered; trial length not stated on the pricing page |
| LEDES and UTBMS | UTBMS coding and LEDES billing listed on all four Clio Manage plans |
| Trust accounting | Trust account management on all plans; trust balance notifications from Core upward |
| Payments and accounting sync | Card, eCheck and ACH online payments on all plans; text to pay from Core; multi-currency and split billing from Signature |
| Main limitation | Only the Starter price is published, so comparing Core or Signature costs requires a sales conversation |
- Hourly, flat rate and contingency billing, invoicing and online payments are included from Starter, which also covers trust and operating account reconciliation.
- Core and higher plans include AI features such as automated billing, with AI described as part of the plan rather than a separate add-on.
- Pricing beyond the entry plan is not public, and features such as split billing and multi-currency billing sit on the Signature tier or higher.
Our take: Clio is the broadest platform here. Billing lives inside Clio Manage, and the same account can extend to Clio Grow for intake, Clio Draft for document automation and Clio Work for AI drafting and research. For billing buyers the useful facts are that LEDES and UTBMS coding are listed on every plan, including Starter, and that online card, eCheck and ACH payments are included throughout. That makes Clio a practical fit for a small firm with a few corporate clients that require electronic billing. The catch is cost visibility: only the $49 Starter price is published, and Core, Signature and Elite require you to ask. Split billing and multi-currency invoices sit on Signature. Before you commit, ask for written per-user prices on two tiers, confirm the trial length, and test automated billing on Core against your own invoice review process. Compare the quoted Core price with MyCase Pro and PracticePanther Business.
TimeSolv
Best for complex e-billing and split invoicesBest for: Firms that bill insurers or corporate legal departments and need several LEDES formats, split billing and QuickBooks or Xero sync.
| Attribute | TimeSolv |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Billed per active user, monthly or annually; Pro and Legal plan rates not shown on the pricing page; CRM add-on $147/month billed annually |
| Free plan or trial | 10-day free trial, no credit card required |
| LEDES and UTBMS | LEDES 1998B, 1998BI, Chubb and Litigation Advisor formats plus UTBMS and ABA task codes |
| Trust accounting | Trust accounting reports listed; confirm trust ledger and reconciliation depth in a demo |
| Payments and accounting sync | TimeSolv Pay for card, ACH and digital wallets with next-day funding; sync to QuickBooks or Xero |
| Main limitation | Core plan prices are not published, so you need a quote before comparing per-user cost with Bill4Time or MyCase |
- Invoices can be split by percentage or fixed amount across clients, co-counsel or third parties, which suits insurance defense and shared-fee matters.
- Batch invoicing, branded templates by client type and hourly, fixed-fee or hybrid billing are listed on the invoicing feature page.
- The vendor does not publish per-user plan prices, and the pricing table does not clearly show which plan includes trust accounting.
Our take: TimeSolv is a billing and timekeeping specialist with unusually specific e-billing support. Its invoicing page lists LEDES 1998B, 1998BI, Chubb and Litigation Advisor formats with UTBMS and ABA task codes, plus percentage or fixed-amount split billing. That combination matters for insurance defense firms and firms that bill corporate legal departments through e-billing portals, where rejected invoices delay payment. TimeSolv Pay handles card, ACH and digital wallet payments with next-day funding, and the payments page describes sync to QuickBooks or Xero. The weak point for a shortlist is price transparency: the pricing page lists add-ons with prices but not the per-user rates for the Pro or Legal plans. Use the 10-day trial to submit a test LEDES file to the portal your largest client uses, and ask sales for a written quote that states which plan includes trust accounting. Then compare the result with Bill4Time Legal Enterprise, which publishes a custom LEDES option.
Smokeball
Best for firms losing unrecorded billable timeBest for: Small and growing firms where fee earners forget to record time and the firm wants activity-based capture tied to matters.
| Attribute | Smokeball |
|---|---|
| Published pricing | Quote-based; price depends on number of users, plan (Bill, Boost, Grow, Prosper+), contract term and optional products |
| Free plan or trial | No free trial listed; demo and personalized quote |
| LEDES and UTBMS | LEDES support not stated on the pricing page; confirm in a demo |
| Trust accounting | Trust accounting included from the Bill plan |
| Payments and accounting sync | Smokeball Payments for invoices; AutoTime automatic time capture included on Prosper+ and an add-on on Grow |
| Main limitation | No published prices or trial, and automatic time capture requires the upper tiers |
- AutoTime records work such as documents, emails, tasks and calendar events against each matter and completes a timesheet overnight for each fee earner.
- The Bill plan is described as a legal billing solution covering expenses, trust accounting and payments, so firms can start with billing alone.
- There are no public prices or trial, so cost comparison depends entirely on a sales quote and contract term.
Our take: Smokeball's billing case rests on AutoTime, which records activity inside the platform and drafts timesheets overnight, so lawyers review entries instead of reconstructing their day. That is a different approach from the timer-based capture in Bill4Time or TimeSolv, and it works best when most work happens inside Smokeball's document and email tools. The entry Bill plan covers billing, expenses, trust accounting and payments; AutoTime is included on Prosper+ and sold as an add-on on Grow. Pricing is quote-based and depends on users, plan, contract term and add-ons, and the pricing page does not list a free trial. In a demo, ask to see a full day of AutoTime output for a sample matter, how entries are edited before billing, how trust transfers are recorded, and whether LEDES export is available for your clients. Ask for the quote with and without AutoTime so you can judge whether recovered time covers the higher tier.
How to choose legal billing software
Billing arrangements and invoice formats
List every way you bill today: hourly, flat fee, contingency, retainers, subscription and split payers. Then check whether each product supports them on the tier you plan to buy, not just somewhere in its range. If any client requires electronic billing, ask which LEDES formats are supported and whether UTBMS task and activity codes are applied at entry or only at export. TimeSolv publishes a specific list of formats, Clio lists LEDES on every plan, and Bill4Time and PracticePanther place LEDES on higher tiers. A rejected e-bill can delay payment by weeks, so test with a real portal.
Trust accounting and compliance
If you hold client funds, trust accounting is the feature that carries the most risk. Look for a separate trust ledger per client and matter, protection against overdrawing a client balance, and reconciliation reports that your bookkeeper and bar auditor can read. Three-way reconciliation compares the bank statement, the trust journal and the client ledgers; some products include it, while MyCase sells it through an Accounting add-on. Confirm the rules in your jurisdiction with your bar or accountant, because software helps you record transactions but does not make a firm compliant on its own. This is general information, not legal advice.
Time capture that matches how lawyers work
Unrecorded time is usually the largest revenue leak in a small firm. Timer-based tools work if lawyers start and stop timers reliably; activity-based capture, such as Smokeball AutoTime or MyCase Smart Time Finder, suggests entries from what people did in the system. Ask how mobile entry works, whether time can be logged offline, how entries are reviewed before invoicing, and how write-downs are recorded for reporting. Run the trial with two or three lawyers for a full week and compare captured hours with what they would normally have recorded.
Payments and accounting integration
Online payments shorten collection time, but the details matter. Check whether card and ACH payments can be routed to the correct operating or trust account, what processing fees apply, and whether clients can pay from a portal, email link or text message. Then check how payments and invoices flow into your general ledger. Bill4Time and PracticePanther describe QuickBooks integration, TimeSolv describes QuickBooks or Xero sync, and MyCase and Clio offer built-in accounting options. Ask whether sync is one-way or two-way and how refunds and credits are handled.
Total cost and contract terms
Compare the full annual cost for your real headcount, not the entry price. Add the tier that contains the features you need, add-ons such as accounting, AI or intake, payment processing fees and any implementation or data migration charges. Check whether the vendor bills per active user or per named user, whether annual prepayment is required to get the advertised price, and how easy it is to remove seats. For quote-based vendors such as Smokeball, ask for the price in writing for two contract terms so you can see the effect of a longer commitment.
How legal billing software pricing works
Most legal billing products charge per user per month, with a discount for annual prepayment. Published examples on this page run from $39 per user per month for Bill4Time Time & Billing on annual terms to $114 for PracticePanther Business Pro, and $130 for MyCase Advanced. The difference between monthly and annual billing is typically $10 to $20 per user per month. Tier structure matters more than the entry price, because legal-specific features such as trust accounting, LEDES export and split billing are often placed on the second or third tier. Price the tier that contains everything you need before you compare vendors.
Several vendors publish only part of their pricing. Clio publishes its Starter price of $49 per user per month and asks buyers to request prices for Core, Signature and Elite. TimeSolv publishes add-on prices, such as its CRM add-on at $147 per month on annual billing for up to three users, but not its core per-user rates. Smokeball is fully quote-based and says price depends on users, plan, contract term and optional products. When you request quotes, ask for the same headcount and term from each vendor and ask whether the quoted rate is fixed at renewal.
Budget for costs outside the subscription. Card and ACH processing fees usually apply to online payments, accounting add-ons can add $39 per user per month as with MyCase Accounting, and some vendors charge for implementation or data migration. Factor in staff time for migrating open matters, trust balances and unbilled time, which is often the largest hidden cost of switching.
Kurums Match: which one fits you?
Pick the situation closest to yours. Each answer jumps to the matching card above.
I need billing and trust accounting at the lowest published priceSmall firm, billing first
Bill4Time → Bill4Time Legal Pro includes trust accounting, UTBMS codes and LEDES export at $59 per user per month on annual billing, without the cost of a full suite.
I want published tiers with trust ledgers on the entry planConsumer practice areas
MyCase → MyCase Basic includes time entry, invoicing, trust ledgers and LawPay payments at $50 per user per month annually, with no setup fee.
I have a few corporate clients that require LEDESMixed client base
Clio → Clio lists UTBMS coding and LEDES billing on all four plans, so you do not need the top tier to send electronic invoices.
I bill insurers and split invoices between payersInsurance defense, shared fees
TimeSolv → TimeSolv supports several LEDES formats including Chubb and Litigation Advisor, and splits invoices by percentage or fixed amount.
My lawyers keep forgetting to record timeRevenue leakage problem
Smokeball → Smokeball AutoTime records matter activity and builds timesheets overnight, so lawyers review entries rather than reconstruct their day.
Buying tip
Before you sign, export a month of real time entries from your current system and run them through each finalist's invoice and LEDES output during the trial. Comparing the printed invoices side by side shows gaps in rates, task codes and trust handling faster than any feature list.
Legal Billing Software: frequently asked questions
What is legal billing software?
Legal billing software records lawyers' time and expenses, applies billing rates and fee arrangements, produces invoices and collects payments. Legal-specific products add trust or IOLTA accounting, electronic billing formats such as LEDES with UTBMS codes, split billing and audit trails. Many products on the market, including Clio, MyCase and PracticePanther, bundle billing with practice management, while Bill4Time and TimeSolv focus mainly on time and billing.
What is LEDES billing and do I need it?
LEDES is a standard electronic invoice format used by many corporate legal departments and insurers, usually combined with UTBMS task and activity codes. If your clients review invoices through an e-billing platform, they may require a specific LEDES version such as 1998B. If you bill only individuals and small businesses, you may never need it. Check the format each client requires before choosing a tier.
Does legal billing software make my trust account compliant?
No software makes a firm compliant by itself. Good tools keep separate client ledgers, prevent overdrawing a client balance and produce reconciliation reports, which makes compliance easier to demonstrate. Trust accounting rules differ by jurisdiction, so confirm requirements with your bar association or an accountant who works with law firms. This article is general information, not legal or accounting advice.
How much does legal billing software cost per user?
Published prices on this page range from $39 per user per month for Bill4Time Time & Billing on annual terms to $130 for MyCase Advanced and $114 for PracticePanther Business Pro. Legal-specific tiers usually start around $50 to $60 per user per month on annual billing. Clio starts at $49 per user per month for Starter, while TimeSolv and Smokeball require a quote for core plans.
Which legal billing tools offer a free trial?
Bill4Time offers a 14-day trial, MyCase and TimeSolv offer 10-day trials, and PracticePanther offers a 7-day trial, all without a credit card according to their pricing pages. Clio offers a free trial but does not state its length on the pricing page. Smokeball lists demos and personalized quotes rather than a self-serve trial.
Can legal billing software sync with QuickBooks or Xero?
Yes, several can. Bill4Time includes QuickBooks integration from its entry plan, PracticePanther describes QuickBooks Online sync, and TimeSolv describes syncing transactions to QuickBooks or Xero. MyCase and Clio also offer built-in accounting options. Ask each vendor whether sync is one-way or two-way and how trust transactions are handled, since trust funds should not be mixed with operating income.
Related comparisons
Last updated 13 October 2026 · Pricing checked 12 October 2026.
Disclosure: Kurums is reader-supported through advertising. We currently have no affiliate, sponsorship or partnership relationship with any product compared on this page; if that changes, this page will say so and affected links will carry sponsored attributes.
Discover more from Kurums | Business Intelligence
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.