Finance Crypto Finance Fintech & Transfers Insurance Financial Reporting Banking Budgeting & Planning Auditing & KPIs Financial Planning Accounting Bookkeeping Cost Accounting Financial Statements Accounts Payable & Receivable Auditing Fixed Assets & Depreciation Accounting Software IFRS & GAAP Standards Marketing Brand Strategy Content Marketing SEO & AI Search Social Media Email Marketing Digital Ads TikTok Marketing & Shop Growth Hacking Marketing Analytics Pricing Psychology Brand Ambassadors Tools & Comparisons HR Compensation & Benefits Employee Engagement HR Strategy Recruitment & Talent Acquisition Sales B2B Sales AI in Sales CRM Systems Cold Outreach Pricing Strategy Pipeline Management Sales Enablement Sales Leadership Technology AI Tools & LLMs Cloud Infrastructure Cybersecurity Data Analytics Emerging Tech All β†’ Startup Corporate Governance Law Procurement Procurement: Sourcing Procurement: Vendor Management Procurement: Supply Chain Procurement: Contract Negotiation Procurement: Cost Reduction All Departments
Select Page

Buyer's guide Β· Technology

We compared eight IT service management platforms on public pricing, free plans and trials, deployment options, ITIL process coverage by plan, AI features and integrations, using each vendor's own pricing and product pages.

By Kurums EditorialPricing checked 4 Oct 2026Updated 4 Oct 2026How we make money
TL;DR
  • Small IT teams starting out: Jira Service Management is free for 3 agents; ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Standard is free for up to 5 technicians.
  • Mid-market teams that want fast setup: Freshservice publishes four clear tiers from $19 per agent per month, billed annually.
  • Full ITIL scope at one price: HaloITSM sells a single all-inclusive licence at Β£66 per agent per month; SysAid Professional is $89 per agent per month with AI included.
  • On-premises or hybrid needs: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus, HaloITSM and Ivanti Neurons for ITSM all offer non-cloud deployment.
  • Large enterprises with a platform team: ServiceNow ITSM and Ivanti Neurons for ITSM are quote-based and built for complex estates.

IT service management (ITSM) software runs the service desk and the processes around it: incidents, service requests, problems, changes, assets and the configuration database, usually with a self-service portal and SLAs on top. This guide covers platforms sold as ITSM suites; lighter customer-support help desks are compared separately.

The order below is not a quality ranking. Products with public list prices come first, in ascending entry price; quote-based platforms follow. Every product is described with the same fields, and each fact comes from the vendor's own pages.

ITSM software compared at a glance

PlatformPricingBest forLink
1. Jira Service ManagementFree for 3 agents; Standard $20, Premium $51.42 per agent/mo; Enterprise customTeams already on JiraSite β†’
2. FreshserviceStarter $19, Growth $49, Pro $99 per agent/mo, billed annually; Enterprise customMid-market IT teamsSite β†’
3. ManageEngine ServiceDesk PlusCloud from $645/yr (Professional, 2 technicians + 250 assets); Standard free up to 5 techniciansCost-conscious and on-premises teamsSite β†’
4. HaloITSMΒ£66 per agent/mo, billed annually (GBP list price); single planOne all-inclusive priceSite β†’
5. SysAidProfessional $89 per agent/mo; Enterprise custom from 20 agentsAI included in the base priceSite β†’
6. TOPdeskEssential Β£51, Engaged Β£72, Excellent Β£101 per agent/mo (GBP list prices)IT plus facilities service desksSite β†’
7. ServiceNow ITSMQuote-based; packages Foundation, Advanced and PrimeLarge enterprisesSite β†’
8. Ivanti Neurons for ITSMQuote-based; no public priceHybrid and Ivanti estatesSite β†’

Prices are public list prices as displayed on each vendor's pricing page on 4 October 2026, before tax and discounts, in the currency the page showed (USD unless marked GBP). Billing terms and seat counts change the real cost, so confirm on the vendor's pricing page. Method: see how Kurums evaluated these tools below.

Which ITIL processes are in which plan?

The biggest price differences in this category are not between vendors but between plans. Most suites sell incident and request management at the entry tier and hold problem, change and release management for a higher one. On the pages we checked, change management starts at Premium for Jira Service Management, Pro for Freshservice, Engaged for TOPdesk, Enterprise for ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and Advanced for ServiceNow. HaloITSM and SysAid Professional include those processes in their single published price.

Before comparing per-agent prices, write down which processes you need in the first year, then price each vendor at the plan that actually contains them.

The 8 ITSM platforms in detail

1

Jira Service Management

Best for teams already on Jira

Best for: IT teams that already work in Jira or Confluence, and small teams that want to start on a free plan.

AttributeJira Service Management
Public pricingFree: $0 for 3 agents. Standard: $20 per agent per month. Premium: $51.42 per agent per month. Enterprise: custom, billed annually. Sold as part of Atlassian's Service Collection.
Free plan / trialFree plan for 3 agents; free trial of paid plans
DeploymentCloud; self-managed Data Center plans also listed
ITSM scope by planStandard includes asset and configuration management; Premium adds advanced incident and problem management and change management
AI featuresRovo AI, with usage credits that rise by plan; virtual service agent on Premium and Enterprise
IntegrationsAtlassian Marketplace with over 1,000 apps and integrations
Security and adminData residency on paid plans; SSO through Atlassian Guard
Main limitationChange management and advanced incident and problem management require Premium
  • A permanent free plan for up to 3 agents.
  • Requesters are not charged; only agents are licensed.
  • The Premium plan that carries change management costs more than 2.5 times Standard.
Visit Atlassian β†’See pricingOpens the official site
2

Freshservice

Best for mid-market IT teams

Best for: Mid-market IT teams that want a cloud service desk running quickly without a dedicated platform team.

AttributeFreshservice
Public pricingStarter $19, Growth $49, Pro $99 per agent per month, billed annually. Enterprise: custom. Freddy AI Copilot add-on: $29 per agent per month, billed annually.
Free plan / trialNo free plan; 14-day free trial
DeploymentCloud
ITSM scope by planStarter: incident and knowledge management, support portal. Growth adds service catalog, SLA and on-call management. Pro adds problem, change and release management.
AI featuresFreddy AI Copilot (paid add-on), Freddy AI Agent
IntegrationsMicrosoft Teams, Slack, Google Workspace, AWS, Azure, GitHub and others
Security and adminSSO listed on all plans; audit logs and sandbox on Enterprise
Main limitationProblem and change management start at Pro; the AI Copilot is priced separately
  • Four published tiers with a clear feature step at each level.
  • SSO is included from the entry plan.
  • A team that needs change management pays the $99 Pro price, plus $29 if it wants the Copilot.
3

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Best for cost-conscious and on-premises teams

Best for: Small and mid-sized IT teams that want a low entry cost, and organisations that must run the service desk on their own servers.

AttributeManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus
Public pricingCloud: Standard from $1,545 per year for 10 technicians; Professional from $645 per year for 2 technicians and 250 assets; Enterprise from $1,595 per year for 2 technicians and 250 assets. On-premises editions are priced separately.
Free plan / trialStandard edition free for up to 5 technicians; 30-day free trial
DeploymentCloud and on-premises
ITSM scope by planStandard: service desk. Professional adds IT asset management. Enterprise adds change, problem, release and project management and the CMDB.
AI featuresZia AI assistant included in all editions; Zia Agents on Enterprise
IntegrationsChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot integrations named; wider ManageEngine and Zoho suite
Security and adminITIL practice certification and PinkVERIFY stated on the product page
Main limitationPrice depends on technician count, asset count and paid add-ons, so totals are harder to predict
  • A free edition and an on-premises option.
  • AI assistant included without a separate fee.
  • Full ITIL process coverage sits in the Enterprise edition or in paid add-ons.
4

HaloITSM

Best for one all-inclusive price

Best for: Teams that want every ITIL process in one licence with no tiers or add-ons, with a choice of cloud or on-premises.

AttributeHaloITSM
Public pricingΒ£66 per agent per month, billed annually (GBP price shown; other currencies are available on the pricing page). One plan with no tiers or add-ons; named and concurrent licences.
Free plan / trialNo free plan; 30-day free trial, no credit card required
DeploymentCloud, private cloud or on-premises
ITSM scope by planIncident, problem, change, asset and CMDB, service catalog, self-service portal and SLAs all included
AI featuresHalo AI, included in the licence
IntegrationsNot listed on the pages we checked
Security and adminISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II listed; SSO via SAML and OIDC; audit logging
Main limitationNo low-cost entry tier for teams that only need ticketing
  • One published price covers every module, which makes budgeting simple.
  • End users are free; only agents are licensed.
  • Small teams that need only basic ticketing pay for the full suite.
Visit HaloITSM β†’See pricingOpens the official site
5

SysAid

Best for AI included in the base price

Best for: Mid-sized IT teams that want AI assistance and core ITIL processes bundled rather than sold as add-ons.

AttributeSysAid
Public pricingProfessional: $89 per agent per month. Enterprise: custom, starting at 20 agents.
Free plan / trialNo free plan; free trial with no credit card
DeploymentCloud
ITSM scope by planProfessional: request, incident, change and problem management, asset management with 250 assets included, SLA management
AI featuresAI Copilot for agents and end users and pre-built AI agents included; tailor-made AI agents on Enterprise
IntegrationsMicrosoft Entra ID, Intune, Microsoft 365, Slack and Salesforce named; automation credits included
Security and adminSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, MFA and SSO, multi-region data residency listed
Main limitationOnly two plans, and the entry price is higher than tiered rivals
  • Change and problem management are in the published plan, not held for a higher tier.
  • AI features are included in the per-agent price.
  • Sandbox environment is an add-on on Professional.
Visit SysAid β†’See pricingOpens the official site
6

TOPdesk

Best for IT plus facilities service desks

Best for: Mid-sized organisations, particularly in the UK and Europe, that run IT and other service departments on one desk.

AttributeTOPdesk
Public pricingEssential Β£51, Engaged Β£72, Excellent Β£101 per agent per month (GBP prices shown; the page lets you change currency and agent count).
Free plan / trialNo free plan or self-serve trial found; demo on request
DeploymentCloud (SaaS), hosted in a regional data centre
ITSM scope by planEssential: incident management, self-service portal, asset management, knowledge base. Engaged adds change, problem and SLA management. Excellent adds project management.
AI featuresAI categorisation, knowledge generation and search from Engaged; summarisation and assistants on Excellent
Integrations90+ integrations and an API
Security and adminNot stated on the pages we checked
Main limitationChange and problem management and all AI features start at the Engaged plan
  • Three published plans with a clear process step between them.
  • Asset management is included from the entry plan.
  • No free plan or self-serve trial on the pages we checked.
Visit TOPdesk β†’See pricingOpens the official site
7

ServiceNow ITSM

Best for large enterprises

Best for: Large enterprises with a dedicated platform team that want ITSM as part of a wider workflow platform.

AttributeServiceNow ITSM
Public pricingQuote-based. Three packages: ITSM Foundation, ITSM Advanced and ITSM Prime; no public price.
Free plan / trialNo free plan or self-serve trial; demos available
DeploymentNot stated on the pages we checked
ITSM scope by planFoundation: incident, request and service catalog, asset management and CMDB. Advanced adds change, problem, major incident and on-call management.
AI featuresVirtual Agent in Foundation; AI agents for ITSM in Prime; Now Assist
IntegrationsMicrosoft Teams and Slack named; broad platform ecosystem
Security and adminNot stated on the pages we checked
Main limitationNo public pricing; change and problem management are in Advanced, not Foundation
  • Asset management and the CMDB are part of the entry package.
  • ITSM sits on a platform that also covers other enterprise workflows.
  • Cost can only be established through a sales quote.
8

Ivanti Neurons for ITSM

Best for hybrid and Ivanti estates

Best for: Enterprises that already use Ivanti endpoint or security products, or that need on-premises or hybrid deployment.

AttributeIvanti Neurons for ITSM
Public pricingQuote-based; no public price on the product page.
Free plan / trialNo free plan or self-serve trial; demo on request
DeploymentCloud, on-premises or hybrid
ITSM scope by planIncident, problem, change, configuration, request, service catalog, release and IT asset management
AI featuresGenerative AI summarisation, ticket classification and knowledge article generation
IntegrationsOver 1,000 connectors, including Workday, ADP, Jira, CrowdStrike and Okta
Security and adminSOC 2 and ISO/IEC 27001 listed; PinkVERIFY certification stated
Main limitationNo public pricing or self-serve trial, so evaluation runs through sales
  • Three deployment models, including hybrid.
  • Wide connector library for HR, security and identity systems.
  • You cannot compare cost without a quote.

Kurums Match: which ITSM platform fits?

We are a team of 3 to 5 agentsBudget is tight

Start with the free plan of Jira Service Management (3 agents) or the free Standard edition of ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus (up to 5 technicians).

We need change management from day oneWithout a tier jump

HaloITSM and SysAid include it in their published price. With tiered vendors, price the plan that contains it.

We must host it ourselvesOn-premises or hybrid
We want a quick cloud rolloutMid-market, no platform team

Freshservice has four published tiers and a 14-day trial.

We run a large, complex estatePlatform team in place

ServiceNow ITSM and Ivanti Neurons for ITSM are quote-based enterprise options.

Buying tip

Count agents, not employees, and ask each vendor to confirm in writing which plan contains change and problem management, how many assets are included, and what AI features cost. Those three lines move the total more than the headline per-agent price.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between ITSM software and a help desk?

A help desk handles tickets. ITSM software adds the processes around them, such as problem, change and release management, an asset and configuration database, a service catalog and SLAs, usually aligned to ITIL practices.

How is ITSM software priced?

Most vendors charge per agent or technician per month, often billed annually, with end users free. Some editions also count assets, and enterprise platforms are quoted individually. AI features are sometimes included and sometimes a paid add-on.

Is there free ITSM software?

Yes. On the pages we checked, Jira Service Management is free for 3 agents and ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Standard is free for up to 5 technicians. Both limit the process scope compared with their paid plans.

Do we need ITIL certification to use these tools?

No. The tools ship with ITIL-style processes built in, but you can start with incident and request management and add other practices as the team matures.

Cloud or on-premises?

Cloud is the default for most vendors here. If policy or regulation requires your own infrastructure, shortlist the vendors that list on-premises or private cloud deployment and confirm feature parity with their cloud edition.

Related comparisons

Last updated 4 October 2026 Β· Pricing checked 4 October 2026.

Disclosure: Kurums is reader-supported and shows advertising. No vendor paid to be included in this comparison, and the order is not a quality ranking. Sponsored positions in the Kurums Solutions Directory are labelled and never affect editorial comparisons. How we make money.


Discover more from Kurums | Business Intelligence

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Discover more from Kurums | Business Intelligence

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Discover more from Kurums | Business Intelligence

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading